What is Marketing?

Marketing takes a day to learn. Unfortunately it takes a lifetime to master.

This was a quote by Philip Kotler, a marketing expert who’s been consulted by many large companies like IBM, Michelin, Bank of America, Merck, General Electric, Honeywell, Samsung, Coca Cola, Hyundai and Motorola. I think he’s right.

I’m currently an undergraduate university student at the University of Waterloo studying mathematics and at Wilfrid Laurier University studying business administration.

I have fought hard with myself in order to decide what I want to pursue in my future career. It’s a magical coincidence that it can all be summed up in one word: Marketing. My interests and hobbies vary from history, photography, the environment, and technology. I figured that there was no way I will ever incorporate all of them. I would like to believe that I was wrong.

I have just scratched the surface by studying it in school. What is marketing? I want to find out. It’s such a general word that describes so much. I want to explore and learn more about it and share my discoveries.

Feel free to comment or contact me to share anything you find interesting.

Leave a Reply

