Starbucks: Friend or Foe?

Starbucks Logo

My posts have been quite infrequent lately due to the fact that I have just moved into my new house that I have leased for a year. There is also no internet set up right now so I have to go to Starbucks to use their Wi-fi internet. Now, speaking of Starbucks I must admit that I have been unsure of Starbucks for a long time.

I will always remember thinking that $5 for a coffee seemed absolutely ridiculous to me. They back up their price by saying that they only serve fair-trade coffee. I recall finding other fair-trade coffees for less though. The price actually attracts some people though. What’s the best way to seem like money’s not a problem for you? The answer is buying a coffee from Starbucks everyday. There’s a level of sophistication and quality that Starbucks have tried to develop and I think they have actually done a good job. Their drinks are delicious.

Free Wi-Fi internet with no catch? Free samples even though you don’t buy any of their food? It sounds too good to be true. I personally love that they do this. When using their free Wi-Fi, I understand that I’m not obligated to buy anything, but I do anyways. I think this actually helps their business. If they charged for internet. I might be a little bitter, or just go somewhere else.

Is Starbucks saving the world? They claim they are. Starbucks prides itself with (STARBUCKS) RED, Starbucks Foundation, Ethos Water Fund, Saving the Environment and Ethical Sourcing. With all the stuff their doing, I think they’re actually doing it because they want to, not just because they want their business to strive. That’s just one person’s opinion though.

I can’t help but be a little bit biased towards Starbucks though. They have saved me this week because of my deprivation of internet at home. It might just be this particular store that I adore, since the workers are friendly, the samples are good and the internet is fast. I recall all my other Starbucks experiences being positive too. To me, Starbucks is a friend.

2 thoughts on “Starbucks: Friend or Foe?

    • I was kind of indifferent to Starbucks before too. I’m almost quite happy that I didn’t have internet for a week so that I could discover it.

      Your link was very interesting! I don’t know if I have that kind of “dedication”. It sounds like it would take a lot out of a person.

Leave a Reply

