“Models do not look like real human beings.”

It’s unfortunate that I have been neglecting this blog lately. I have been reading and learning a lot but I just haven’t been posting what I’ve discovered. I recently found an article from the Record (Waterloo Region’s local newspaper) called, Beauty can be a beast and I thought I’d share it. It’s about the media and how it affects the self-esteem and unrealistic expectations of women. I do think the media and advertisement can be a powerful tool, but it obviously has negative connotations and impact as well.

I was particularly surprised when Anne Wilson, a Laurier psychology professor stated that, “The average North American sees upwards of 600 advertisements every day.” I never really thought about how much advertisement I’ve seen in a day… but 600 seems like a massive number. I don’t think it’s an impossible number though. I guess I have never really thought about how much advertisement I’ve been exposed to.

I think it’s important to take advertisements with a grain of salt. Remember not to let them affect your perceptions of yourself.

Leave a Reply

