What am I doing?

I attended the Organizational & Human Development’s (OHD) Fourth Annual Staff Conference at the University of Waterloo on April 6 & 7. They had some great keynote speakers including Dr. Peter Jensin, Stuart Knight,  Sean Aiken and Marc Kielburger. I found the conference really enriching and inspiring with messages such as, “follow your passion” and “don’t be afraid to take a risk” but it made me feel a bit empty for a while.

Marc Kielburger, CM, OMC (born 1977) is a Canadian author, humanitarian and activist for children’s rights. He is the co-founder of Free The Children, an international development and youth empowerment organization. (Wikipedia)

He gave a very powerful speech and informed us all about child labour and shared some of his personal experiences. I know it was meant to be motivating and inspiring, but I could not help but question myself. What am I doing? How can I I live my life and turn a blind eye to the issues that are facing our world? Why do I buy things I do not need? How can I find happiness in a new camera lens, electronics and clothes when others are suffering?

I asked myself many questions, but the one that really had me thinking was, “What am I doing?” I thought about where I saw myself ten years from now. Would I be promoting a service or product that I did not believe in? Is marketing the right path for me?  I was thinking so much that I actually was feeling a bit overwhelmed, so I did what I thought was the logical thing: I napped.

I think I came to the conclusion that for now, I’ll finish my education while looking for opportunities to do what I can. I must also not settle for a position where I will promote something I do not believe in. I must try to do what I can to make the world a better place, even if it’s a small difference. Marc shared a quote from Mother Teresa and I thought it was inspiring.

“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”
— Mother Teresa

I am a little bit groggy right now because of my nap. I do not think I am as coherent as I’d like to be but I am blogging to remind myself that I have a responsibility to the world. I am putting this in writing because I want to look back at this and remember to give back.

Leave a Reply

