Keeping Track of my Internet Identities

I was curious about how many websites I had accounts on and I ended up making a spreadsheet document to track my accounts. It turns out, I have signed up for an account for over 30 websites. It’s probably closer to 40 or 50 because I made more accounts that I have forgotten about. I have about 5 usernames that I use between all those sites.

Some of the websites I signed up for are fairly standard. I have a Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, LinkedIn, Google+, Blogger, WordPress, and Tumblr account. I frequent those sites often and I always try to keep in mind that once something is posted, it is exposed to the world and I may not be able to undo my actions.

There are other accounts that I wish I had not made. I used to really like forums and signed up for many accounts. I have forgotten which ones I signed up for and now I know there are some accounts of mine that are just floating on the web. I wish I had been more careful in the past. Nowadays, almost everything is cached so it’s hard to ensure that something is completely off the web unless it was never there in the first place.

Next time, I’ll think twice before signing up for yet another account and ask myself if I really do need to extend my internet identity.

Leave a Reply

