A new site called Take This Lollipop is just in time for Halloween. It starts off as a seemingly innocent page that dares you to take the lollipop by clicking the familiar “Connect with Facebook” button. After you have given it permission to access your information, it shows you a customized video that depicts a creepy man stalking you through your Facebook. He goes through your Facebook profile with crazed eyes, and goes through some of your Facebook photos (the photos change if you do it multiple times). He then proceeds to look up your location on Google Maps. He is then seen driving to track you and a photo of you can be seen on his truck’s dashboard. After the short video, a countdown begins.
I thought this was implemented extremely well. It went viral over this week and there was a lot of speculation over whether or not this was an advertising campaign. It turns out that this was a neat little project that director Jason Zada decided to do for fun.
It served as a good reminder to think twice about the information you share. The “Connect to Facebook” button is sometimes clicked mindlessly without a second thought about what you are actually sharing. It’s also a great way to get in the Halloween mood!